Drama

One-Act Play

Each year, Chanhassen High School offers students an intense experience for participation in the intimate experience of the one act play. A smaller cast and crew (due to rule limitations by the competition guidelines) means that students are more fully involved in the creation and technical aspects of the production. Entering both the MSHSL One-Act Play contest (beginning at the sub-section level and striving to advance to the State Festival) as well as the State Thespian Festival showcase, students in the one act are typically afforded a challenging theatrical journey investigating myriad dramatic genres, playwrights, and stylistic interpretations.

one act play logo
play set

Spring Play

Culminating the theatre season, the Chanhassen High School Spring Production runs the gamut of broad slapstick to charming romantic comedy to Shakespeare. Utilizing the open design of the Black Box space, shows done in the Spring are open to all students, grades 9 through 12, and is the final production before the Spring Induction ceremony for the Thespian Society Troupe 7789. These plays offer students the opportunity to explore and refine their interest in the dramatic arts.

Thespian Troupe 7789

As part of the International Thespian Society, Chanhassen Troupe 7789 is an honors organization that offers students who are passionate about theater an opportunity to spend time with like-minded peers from across the state, country, and world. Besides activities throughout the year for fun and fundraising, the troupe attends the annual State Conference every February where students have two full days of workshops led by professionals from every discipline of the performing arts. Students can also participate in the Individual Events competitions, competing not only for scholarships, but the opportunity to represent Minnesota at the International Festival in June. The ITF is a weeklong theatre extravaganza that is non-stop drama, as well as non-stop fun! In past years, Chan students have achieved Superior ratings in both IE and the One Act Play Showcase.

Thespian Society logo

Contact


Spring Play Director –  Jim Lund  lundj@district112.org

Fall Musical Director –  Anna Hickey Fotis  annahickey2@gmail.com

One Act Play Director –  Randy Herget  rherget@edwardssales.com

District 112 Theater Producer – Jane Herget hergetj@district112.org

Technical Director – Mike Powers  powersm@district112.org

Vocal Director – Sarah Gilbertson  gilbertsons@district112.org

District 112 Theater Manager – Jon Christenson christensonj@district112.org

Orchestra Conductor– Paul Swanson swansonp@district112.org